Shelley Widhalm

NaNoWriMo Procrastinator

In Motivation, Shelley Widhalm, Writing, Writing Processes on November 3, 2014 at 12:44 am

Yes, it is that time again for fast, furious writing without worry about quality with the goal to type, pen or pencil quantity of words.

It takes 1,667 words a day to complete the NaNoWriMo challenge, or National Novel Writing Month during November.

NaNoWriMo brings together writers worldwide who aim to write 50,000 words in 30 days. The daily challenge of 1,667 words is totally doable, because when I write I aim for 1,000 to 2,000 words. The problem is I haven’t started, so I’m behind 3,334 words already as of today.

The goal of NaNoWriMo is to do fast writing, not actually to write something perfect. You can write a crappy first draft and just let go, expelling the cranky editor, procrastinator and creative excuse maker.

But already I’ve let the procrastinator hang out with me, and I don’t know how to get rid of her. That’s because I’m not sure if I want to participate in NaNoWriMo. I took part in it last year but had done some prep work beforehand. This time, I prepped for something that I’m not ready to write about, not just yet, so I am empty handed, literally.

I could be a seat-of-your-pantser writer instead and just start writing to see what happens, freeing myself of the planning and outlining process I usually rely on to get into the writing and storytelling process. But even without a plan, I always have a core idea, not quite a theme but a main character and something he or she wants.

So if I do this, each Sunday, I will check in and let you know about my process for daily writing, as well as give tips on daily dedication, motivation and inspiration. I just have to get out of my procrastinator’s chair and sit down in my writer’s chair and join thousands of other writers who are serious about getting and going and doing writing.

So, here’s to NaNoWriMo!

Leave a Reply

