Shelley Widhalm

Defining Shyness

In Challenge delay, Shyness on June 19, 2011 at 7:31 am

It’s probably about time for a shyness challenge. Originally, I set out to do one a week but overcoming shyness and taking the steps to do so takes work, discipline and motivation.

Shyness for me is feeling apprehension, discomfort and awkwardness in certain social situations, including:

* Attending a party and not knowing anyone besides the hostess.

* Entering a room full of strangers where I need to talk to someone, particularly when I have to conduct an interview for work.

* Participating in a group activity with more than two others, such as eating out or going to a club.

As I read on the Internet, shy people avoid the situations that cause them apprehension. They perpetuate their shyness by not confronting it.

I am doing the same thing with my challenge by not thinking of new ways to confront my shyness. I don’t like the rapid heartbeat and fast pulse, along with the unease, I experience when I try something new.

In situations where I feel shy, I don’t know what to say or how to act and fear that I might be boring. However, I have learned how to make eye contact and no longer cross my arms over my chest and am quick to smile. Through my reporting experience, I have learned how to ask conversational questions and to draw people out to keep the conversation going.

I’ve come a long way in overcoming my shyness.

However, I’m not sure if I’ll ever be completely free of it, especially if I avoid doing what I set out to do. To get back on track, my challenge for next week is to do whatever I encounter in the next week that makes me shake inside.

Leave a Reply

