Shelley Widhalm

Trying Out Lap Dogs

In Coffee shops, Lap Dog, Seeking pets, What's important on December 12, 2010 at 8:15 pm

I had a bad day at work earlier this week. The hours were long, and I was tired. I came home very grumpy until I opened the door.

Zoey, who was taking a nap in her doggie bed, whipped her tail back and forth and looked at me with shiny, eager eyes. I kneeled down and petted her, kissing her head and talking nonsense to her, asking about her day and if she had been a good dog.

I felt my body relax and my bad mood no longer seemed important. This furry creature could care less about what went on in the work world. She was living in the moment, and being with her, I began to do the same.

I grabbed her harness and leash, and we went for a walk. I took her with me to get coffee at a local coffee shop that allows pets, and she sat on my lap as I read. I could feel her relax into me, even though she wanted to run around, sniff out the smells and seek out pets from the customers. I think she figured she needed to stay with me, obeying my silent command to be a lap dog.

I tried again on Thursday to take her with me to another coffee shop that allows pets. She wasn’t having any lap dog stuff and kept jumping off our chair. She wanted to greet the customers, and a few walked over to say how cute she was and to pet her. She probably knew I didn’t need her comfort, having just had a good day.

Leave a Reply

